Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration

Main Office: (575) 527-7590

The climate in New Mexico creates a demand for skilled technicians in both heating and cooling because people prefer to live and work in comfort.
Every new home, hospital, university building, shopping mall, or office complex requires installation mechanics, service technicians, operating engineers, maintenance foremen, and trained crews to keep complex environmental systems operating efficiently. The Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration program at DACC uses training facilities equipped with the most modern test equipment and tools available. As a student, you will learn to—
service, repair, and maintain heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration
systems; read and interpret technical drawings, schematics, and symbols to diagnose
and troubleshoot problems in a system; evaluate, diagnose, and service various mechanical and electrical controls; apply the mathematics related to the heating, air conditioning, and
refrigeration trade; handle customer relations, shop management procedures, and record
keeping relative to the trade; properly use special tools and testing equipment; and become certified in Section 608, EPA certification.

Contact Information

Contact any of our professional faculty and staff for more information and advising.
Edward Lopez – (575) 527-7596 – elopez@dacc.nmsu.edu
Joe Telles – (575) 527-7761 – jtelles@dacc.nmsu.edu
Terry Mount – (575) 527-7584 – TMount@dacc.nmsu.edu
Megan Hernandez – (575) 528-7242 – mehernandez@dacc.nmsu.edu

Course Description:

For course descriptions on any of our program classes, please go to the link(s) below that correspond to your specific field of study.

Aerospace Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/aerospace-technology/
Automation & Manufacturing Tech. – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/automation-manufacturing-technology/
Automotive Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/automotive-technology/
Building Construction Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/building-construction-technology/
Creative Media Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/creative-media-technology/
Drafting and Design Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/drafting-design-technologies/
Electronics Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/electronics-technology/
Environmental & Energy Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/environmental-energy-technologies/
HVAC – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/hvac-refrigeration/
Water Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/water-technology/
Welding Technology – https://catalogs.nmsu.edu/dona-ana/academic-career-programs/welding-technology/